The Kingdom of Belgium (DutchKoninkrijk BelgiëFrenchRoyaume de BelgiqueGermanKönigreich Belgien) is a country in northwest Europe bordered by the NetherlandsGermanyLuxembourg and France and is one of the founding and core members of the European Union. Belgium has a population of over ten million people, in an area of around 30,000 square kilometres (11,700 square miles).

Population: 10,419,000 (76th)
Area: 30,528 kmĀ² (139th) / 11,787 sq mi

* Intro text, area and population information from

Additional Information