Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country in the Southern Hemisphere comprising the mainland of the world's smallest continent, the major island of Tasmania and a number of other islands in the SouthernIndian, and Pacific Oceans. Neighboring countries include IndonesiaEast Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon IslandsVanuatu and the French dependency of New Caledonia to the northeast, and New Zealand to the southeast.

Population: 23,401,892 (53rd)
Area: 7,741,220 kmĀ² (6th) / 2,988,885 sq mi

* Intro text, area and population information from

Country Sites

National Solar Associations (Industry and Non-Industry)

National Associations on Green/Solar/Sustainable Buildings

Most Important Media for Solar Thermal and Solar Buildings

Additional Information